6 Days

Tomorrow it will officially be “the week of the marathon”.

But before I get into to all of that, let’s talk track. I had my last track workout before the race on Wednesday and it went really, really well. I set out to do one last set of Yasso 800s. 10×800. It felt very daunting to me. As I warmed up I really wasn’t feeling it.

Did I REALLY have to do speedwork? It was gloomy out. I was tired. Feeling a bit under the weather. And I kept trying to talk myself out of it. Why did I need to do this track workout? This was my first marathon after all. Who cares about speed in their first marathon?! 26.2 miles is enough, isn’t it?

But ultimately I knew it would give me some valuable information going into the marathon and that I would feel good afterwards. So I sucked it up and went to the track.

My first repeat felt easy (as first repeats often do), but I had the “uggghhh 9 more?!” feeling. But as I settled into it I started to have a blast. By repeat number 4 I was pretty damn jazzed. And I didn’t realized this until afterwards, but I was awfully consistent, too!

3:14, 3:17, 3:15, 3:14, 3:12, 3:13, 3:15, 3:14, 3:15, 3:06

Now I know Yasso 800s are supposed to be an indicator of marathon time, but I know there’s no way I’m running under 3:30 in my first marathon!! But it makes me wonder…would it be crazy to try and come under 3:35? Obviously, it’s my first marathon. I have no idea what to expect in those final 6 miles. Is having a goal like that detrimental? I’m honestly not sure. Part of me is like “why the hell not!”. I’ve trained hard! I’ve pushed myself. Why not go all out? Another part of me things that I should just run at a very easy pace and take things as they come.

I guess what it comes down to is: what do I want to get out of this?

And the answer is I want to have FUN. I love running! I love running long distances! So who gives a shit what time I get! I mostly just want to feel like I pushed myself because that’s when I have the most fun. Feeling like I tried as hard as I possibly could and being proud of wherever I am that day. So there’s that. I’m going to see how I feel the day of the race and go from there. Guh, I can’t wait to see what happens!

On a completely different note, my buddy Elise (she just ran her first marathon in Chicago!) sent me this awesome care package of fuel! I’m particularly excited about the Honey Stingers! And a girl can never have enough GU!!!

Those socks are comfy as hell!

Thanks Elise! I’m going to put you together a package when I get back from California 🙂

Okay, I think I understand the taper crazies now. It’s not that I’m anxious about the lack of mileage this week. I’m just so excited to run this damn thing! I’ve been looking forward to it for so long. Every time people ask me “what’s new?” I have a very boring response. “Uhhhh, still training for the marathon….uhhhh giving tours…duhhh auditioning…hanging out with my dog”. SORRY GUYS. My life is a simple life, but that’s just fine by me!

I have been getting a little bit better at socializing lately. I realize that makes me sound like a hermit. I’m not (maybe a little), BUT the past couple of months have been exhausting for me. The busy tour season kicks my ASS and it makes me want to crawl into a hole and not interact with human beings ever again. Not because people on my tours are assholes or anything, it’s just that having to be “on” all the time takes it toll! Then I was running like a mad women. And between running/working/being exhausted my “socialization” took place in my bed where I grunt and mumble at joe and dog. Sorry joe and dog. I’m sure that I’m a real delight!

But in all seriousness I’ve had a little more free time lately and I’ve been trying to take advantage of that. To hang out with friends I haven’t seen/spent time with for awhile. Last night I even went to a party. And drank the alcoholz. And it was lovely! I caught up with a lot of people I never get to see. Drank too much. Couldn’t find the microwave.

And I was even able to run today! I thought for sure my hangover would curse me, but I actually wasn’t hungover at all (A MIRACLE). I did, however, sleep for two hours after my run. So there’s that.

This has been a real gem of a ramble-y post. So here’s a picture of me sitting on the floor with my dog.

yup.

Oh! And if anybody has ANY interest whatsoever in tracking me on Saturday you can do so here:

https://register.athletetracking.net/sbim/

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 6 Days

  1. trexrunner says:

    I feel like such a creep but I am TOTALLY signed up now to track you on Saturday! You’re going to kill it! And if you don’t, I’ll know…so keep that in mind and run faster.

  2. YES!!! This will also hold me accountable for running a T-rex at the end of the race!!! You will know if I don’t run the last 1.2!!!!

  3. You are going to kill it! I am so excited for you!

Leave a Reply

