2013 Race Musings

I’ll make no bones about it. I want to qualify for Boston in 2013!! I was so close in Baton Rouge and I can’t wait to see what I can do with my next training cycle. I plan on upping my mileage significantly (I never ran more then 40 miles a week, I believe) and using a more challenging training plan. We’ll see!

But that means I need to pick a race. I’m 99.9% certain I’m going to run the Chicago marathon, but that’s too far away! I want to run a spring marathon, too, damnit! Problem with spring is my weekends are pretty full due to Yoga Teacher Training…so my options are limited. Here are the options I do have:

Martian Marathon 4/13/13 (Michigan)
Pros – Flat course! Reasonable registration fee! Fun theme!
Cons – A little earlier then I would like. I feel like my training would be rushed. Flights to Michigan seem expensive.

Kentucky Derby Marathon 4/27/13
Pros – I have a friend with family here. Maybe could convince her to do the half? Perfect timing. Run through Churchill Downs.
Cons – Hills. Doesn’t have the best reviews.

Gettysburg Marathon 4/28/13
Pros- Amazing theme! I could DRIVE there instead of flying! Good timing!
Cons- 10 miles of hills. That won’t help my BQ chances…

Eugene Marathon 4/28/13
Pros – Flat course. Perfect timing. Very well loved marathon.
Cons – It’s far away.

At the moment I think Eugene is my best bet. It IS far, but flights don’t seem horribly expensive. And if I’m serious about BQing I don’t want to add any unnecessary challenges.

I’m also toying with running a 50 miler in June. There’s one here in Massachusetts put on by the trail running group I ran with yesterday. Who knows? I’m crazy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2013 Race Musings

  1. Patrick says:

    I’d go Eugene. Yeah it’s a haul, but it’s a fantastic race in a great setting. Weather in Oregon in April is the least likely of all your choices to be unseasonably warm. Should be perfect running weather.

Leave a Reply

