I’m Bad at Food

I have a terrible diet.

I eat things that are bad for me constantly and I’ve made no real effort to change it. The closest I’ve ever come is not eating out for a few weeks, but I always fall back on my old terrible habits (calzones via foodler..for real!).

Why do I do this? Because it’s never really bitten me in the ass. It’s like procrastination. I did it continually throughout high school and college, but because it never REALLY punished me I kept doing it. Sure, it would have been nice to not pull all nighters, but I always managed to get by with decent grades. So why change if it always worked out for me in the end?

Same thing with food. I’ve pretty much always eaten whatever I’ve wanted without thinking. Every once in awhile I’ll proclaim “I will eat more vegetables now!”. I will then buy a bag of baby carrots, eat a handful of them and then go back to Cheez-its. Seriously, guys. I’m the worst.

As I’ve gotten older I’ve realized something stupidly obvious. Losing weight isn’t the ONLY REASON TO EAT HEALTHY. What a surprise!!! I’ve heard that eating healthy also makes you feel better, sleep better, function better, etc. etc. And you know what? I’ve only got this one silly body so I might as well be nice to it and reap the benefits of healthy livin’.

Here’s the thing. I’m kind of a go big or go home type of person. I know making gradual changes are a good way to change your diet, but I’m bad at that. When I try gradual changes I just don’t change. I know this about myself. Running became a habit for me because I set big goals for myself. And I think I can safely say that running is one of the few things (again, aside from theatre and, uh, my boyfriend) that I’ve stuck with. So, I think, I need to do something extreme with my diet.

Part of the reason I eat poorly is time. Who has enough of it? We all struggle with that, certainly! My roommates, though, find time to cook every single night. Which is incredibly inspriring to me. Most nights I toss off my coat, stumble down the hallway to my computer, and order some greasy delicacy off of foodler. I want to cook more, and I want to WANT to cook more…if that even makes sense. I think part of it is just being aimless. Just trying to decide what to cook and how to do it is mind boggling to me. Yes, I know it’s not THAT hard, but for me it’s that extra amount of effort and thought that keeps me from doing it! I need a goal. An outline. Maybe once I’m better at cooking I will be more excited about doing it, but that takes practice and DUN DUN DUN time. Again, I could MAKE time to cook, but it’s not my priority right now. I just need to make it one.

So where does that leave me? what do I do?!

I was reading this blog by ultra runner, Gretchen. She talked about trying this 30 day diet called Whole30 which is essentially a paleo type diet (which I’d only barely heard of before). I checked it out and found it fascinating. It’s extreme. The diet requires you to cut out all sugars, carbs, dairy, alchohol, and legumes for thirty days. All things I have on an ALMOST daily basis. And because of the strictness of the program you pretty much have to cook every single day.

Yeah.

But here’s the thing. It’s 30 days. It’s not forever, and it will immediately force me out of my worst habits (not cooking, eating crap)in a trial by fire sort of way. I think it’s going to be a huge shock to my body. I read up on people’s experiences with it and a lot of those people were already eating pretty healthily. NOT ME!

Joe, Mike (my roommate), and I are going to start on January 7th.

In the meantime we’ll be coming up with a game plan on how to tackle this sucker.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m Bad at Food

  1. Patrick says:

    How long is your training block for Eugene going to be? I’m not great with food either, but in the first 30 days of any serious block I “attempt” to cut weight with a really high protein diet. Since I’m typically spending that month either in the gym or doing relatively shorter efforts (I do a lot of fasting runs and rides during this month) it works out pretty well. But there’s no way that once the volume kicks up am I able to stay on a high protein diet. Plus my mindset is more “traditional cyclist” than “modern triathlete” – I see no problem in sitting in a cafe after a ride eating croissants as opposed to drinking protein shakes.

    So my point is, this would be a great time to give this diet a shot as I figure you’ll start ramping up volume in February or so?

    All that said, I am by no means a coach. This is just stuff that I have tried and has worked.

    PS I saw you on XL’s blog on the Jingle Bell Hell post + I saw you are in Boston. I grew up there. Miss it.

    • That’s exactly what I was thinking! Try a new diet while building up my base and then slowly introduce carbs back into my diet when I’m ramping up my mileage in February! Develop healthy habits and then indulge a little bit more once I’m in the midst of training. Not too crazy, right?

      I love Boston! I’ve been here for about seven years now, living in the Southie/Dorchester area now. Where did you grow up? I’m from California originally (bay area).

  2. EmmyCafeLatte says:

    I look forward to reading your Whole30 experience!!

Leave a Reply

