Oh! I’m running a marathon in two days.

This has been a pretty radio silent training cycle for me.

But, I figured, hey why not jump back in? Also I may or may not be carb loading with beer and pasta right now as I type this. Speaking of beer one of my favorite gifts in the Boston race goody bag is an awesome beer opener from Sam Adams. You gotta trust me on this one. It’s really sweet. It’s got the Boston logo and the date and 26.2 on it and it works exceptionally well. The bottle caps released themselves from these bottles with grace and ease.

Anyway. I’ll be honest. It’s hit me. The taper crazies. It did not happen until right now, but after picking up my bib it smacked me right in the face. This cycle, overall, has been pretty rockin’. I only really missed one workout and I dug the Hanson’s plan that I followed. This past week and a half has been a bit wonky. I’ve had some stupid gut issues, but I’m deciding not to worry about it. Taper has always been a strange time for me. Sometimes I think I’ve forgotten how to run or I think “hmm, maybe this training just didn’t take”. I think (and hope) this is just my crazy brain trying to talk me out of running 26.2 miles and that I just had a weird stomach week. If my stomach acts up during the race? Oh well! There are bathrooms. I’ll live. All I can do is not eat stupidly in the next 38 or so hours.

So, let’s talk goals.

I want to go sub 3:30. I’m not married to the idea, but damn, it would be sweet. And my training has been on target for a 3:29:xx. So why not give it a try? My B goal is to just qualify again.

But if neither of those things happen? That’s okay. I worked SO HARD just to qualify for this race! I just want to have a blast running it. And all of my friends are going to be there! Because this is my home! And they are already here! How cool is that?

And more good news? Even though I qualified I decided to raise money for an organization. I picked Adopt a Stray because they are the rescue group my friends and I have fostered dogs with before. I raised $370 more than my goal! I’m overwhelmed and delighted by everybody’s generosity. I am so happy that I was able to help out with a cause I care so much about.

And I’m really psyched about the women’s elite field. Holy shit. I’m probably going to be yelling at the crowds “WHO WON THE LADIES ELITE?!” as I run.

And all of my friends have been so patient and sweet and excited for me when I won’t shut up about this damn race. But, man, I really can’t wait. It’s going to be a really, really magical day.

Hey, this was ramble city, but I had to break the no blogging streak somehow!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

